Wicked problems: Reimagining Beveridge's "Five Giants"--Isolation

Fellowship Event

 - 

Zoom/Online

Join Fellows in Oceania and elsewhere for the third event in our online series "Reimagining Beveridge's Five Giants".

In 1942, William Beveridge identified five main social challenges plaguing British society, which became the focus of the modern welfare state: squalor, ignorance, idleness, want, and disease. To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Beveridge Report, the RSA's research team travelled across the country to determine the areas of most concern to contemporary British society.

With unerring consistency, participants highlighted the same issues: disempowerment, intolerance, isolation, climate change, and inequality. These are the New Giants, shared challenges faced by Britain and the rest of the globe.

Over the coming months, RSA Oceania will coordinate an online event series to explore the causes and consequences of these wicked problems, and discuss what a new social settlement to tackle these issues would look like. The third event in the series will address isolation.

Click on the links below to find out more or to book your place:

9am BST/6pm AEST, 3 September -- Disempowerment
9am BST/6pm AEST, 24 September -- Intolerance
9am BST/7pm AEDT, 15 October -- Isolation
8am GMT/7pm AEDT, 6 November -- Climate Change
8am GMT/7pm AEDT, 26 November -- Inequality
​​​​

Joining instructions will be sent to attendees upon registration. Please direct any enquiries about this event to [email protected]

Related events

  • RSA Brighton: Intergenerational work

    Brighton WERKS Central Café, Brighton, BN1 1AL

    With four generations now sharing the workplace – Gen Z, Millennials, Gen Z and Boomers – how can you best prepare for the changing world of work as employers and employees?

  • An evening with Gary Kemp

    RSA House, 8 John Adam St, London, WC2N 6EZ

    Join us for a special evening with guest speaker Gary Kemp and a menu designed and prepared by renowned chef Will Bowlby.

  • First Friday Changemakers: 'Arts and Minds'

    Online

    Our new First Friday Changemakers monthly series offers an interactive space to share and develop ideas for social change. On 4 November, we’re joined by Anton Howes, the in-house historian at the RSA.