The RSA uses cookies on this website. By using this website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more read our cookie policy and privacy policy. More Info

Fighting the social recession: inclusion and social distancing

Fellowship Event

 - 

Zoom

The world is currently battling the "worst public health crisis for a generation" with the outbreak of the coronavirus (COVID-19). As the casualty rate surges, governments across the world are imposing strict social distancing measures as a means to flatten the curve and prevent the spread of the virus.

But while these measures are essential to prevent the pandemic from worsening, mental health authorities fear imposed isolation may cause a “social recession”: a collapse in social contact, with populations vulnerable to isolation and loneliness most at risk.

In conversation with executive coach and counsellor, Paul Vittles FRSA, we look at what connection and inclusion means during a global pandemic, and how we build social solidarity in the face of this crisis.

Please note, this is an online event hosted by RSA Oceania and open to the global Fellowship. See below for timing in your region:

Sydney & Melbourne -- 6pm AEST
New Zealand -- 8pm NZST
United Kingdom -- 9am BST

Related events

  • RSA Devon Café

    Online via Zoom

    Please join us for the first online RSA Devon Café event on Tuesday 11 May.

  • RSA Virtual Coffeehouse Conversation: Educational recovery

    Online

    Join RSA Fellow Professor Mel Ainscow CBE to learn about Greater Manchester’s educational recovery strategy, and to explore how this strategy and others like it can support schools in these unprecedented times.

  • Inclusive employment: what are we learning?

    Online

    Join us at this RSA Inclusive Work, Disability and Ageing Network event to explore new learning on how to achieve inclusive work for disabled and older people.