Accessibility links

April De Angelis

April De Angelis


April De Angelis is an acclaimed writer whose extensive theatre work includes My Brilliant Friend, a two part dramatisation of Elena Ferrantes’ epic family saga (Rose Theatre Kingston); After Electra (Theatre Royal Plymouth & Tricycle Theatre 2015); Rune (New Vic Theatre Stoke 2015); Gastronauts (Royal Court Upstairs, 2013); Jumpy (Royal Court 2011 & Duke of York’s Theatre 2012, Melbourne and Sydney 2015); an adaptation of Wuthering Heights (Birmingham Rep, 2008); A Laughing Matter (Out of Joint at National Theatre, 2001); A Warwickshire Testimony (RSC, 1999); The Positive Hour (Out of Joint at Hampstead Theatre, 1997); Playhouse Creatures (revived at Chichester Festival Theatre in 2013); and The Life and Times of Fanny Hill (revived at the Bristol Old Vic, 2015). Current work includes a commission for the Royal Exchange, Manchester.

April has also written the libretto for Flight music by Jonathan Dove, for Glyndebourne Opera; The Silent Twins libretto, which was set to music by Errollyn Wallen, Almeida Theatre, 2007; and The Day After at the ENO, 2017.

April’s work for radio includes an adaptation of Life in the Tomb for BBC Radio 3 in 2014, a serialisation of Peyton Place, Visitants for BBC Radio 4, and The Outlander for Radio 5, which won the Writer's Guild Award in 1992.  

TV work includes a BFI / Channel 4 commission, Aristophanes.

Related Events