Accessibility links

Why join the Fellowship Council?

Why join the Fellowship Council?

Becoming a Fellowship Councillor will enable you to use your skills and experience to make a lasting difference to the RSA. 

You will get to work with a great network of people to develop activity, all whilst broadening your experience and enhancing your skillset.

Area fellowship councillor


We are seeking 5 Area Fellowship Councillors to enable and support local activity, one each in the RSA’s North, Central, South East, South West and London areas. These are outward-facing roles with time spent helping other Fellows get activity off the ground, whether that’s events, networks, or projects.

As a selected candidate, your application will be considered by the RSA’s Selection Panel.

The term of a Fellowship Councillor is two years and it is possible to stand for election for one additional two-year term. It is a voluntary position with all out-of-pocket expenses reimbursed.

What we are looking for 

  • You will have experience of at least one of the following:
    • Creating successful networks and events
    • Developing and delivering successful projects
    • Supporting and developing people
  • Familiarity with, and interest in, the work of the RSA
  • Good interpersonal and communication skills
  • Willingness to dedicate sufficient time to the role

How to apply 

  • To apply, download and complete a nomination form here and submit along with a copy of your CV (two sides of A4 maximum) at this link, by 5pm, Wednesday 12 September
  • The Selection Panel constituted under the bye-laws will then consider applications. For applications not in London we will be able let you know the results during September, for applications for the London Council a decision will be made shortly after the AGM.

The core role of the Fellowship Council is to support and encourage Fellows to contribute to the RSA mission.

Rod Hyde

Chair of Fellowship Council

Fellowship UK Areas map





Scotland, Ireland, and Wales each form an RSA area respectively. The RSA in England is divided into five areas: North, Central, South West, South East and London.

Being part of the Fellowship Council is an excellent way to connect and support people who are trying to make a difference to society.

Lucy Griffiths FRSA

Director, We Are Lucky; Fellowship Councillor

Do you have a question?

Whatever your question, get in touch with Stuart McLeod  who will be able to help or direct you to the right person.


Stuart Mcleod

Stuart Mcleod

Head of UK Areas