The RSA uses cookies on this website. By using this website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more read our cookie policy and privacy policy. More Info

Wicked problems: Reimagining Beveridge's "Five Giants" -- inequality

Fellowship Event

 - 

Zoom/Online

Join Fellows in Oceania and elsewhere for the final event in our online series "Reimagining Beveridge's Five Giants".

In 1942, William Beveridge identified five main social challenges plaguing British society, which became the focus of the modern welfare state: squalor, ignorance, idleness, want, and disease. To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Beveridge Report, the RSA's research team travelled across the country to determine the areas of most concern to contemporary British society.

With unerring consistency, participants highlighted the same issues: disempowerment, intolerance, isolation, climate change, and inequality. These are the New Giants, shared challenges faced by Britain and the rest of the globe.

Over the coming months, RSA Oceania will coordinate an online event series to explore the causes and consequences of these wicked problems, and discuss what a new social settlement to tackle these issues would look like. The final event in the series will address inequality.

​​​​
This is a global RSA event. Please see below for timing in your region:

United Kingdom -- 8am GMT
Sydney & Melbourne -- 7pm AEDT
New Zealand -- 9pm NZDT

Joining instructions will be sent to attendees upon registration. Please direct any enquiries about this event to philipa.duthie@thersa.org. 

Related events