The Albert Medal

Albert Medal

Recognising creativity and innovation since 1864

The RSA Albert Medal is awarded annually to recognise the creativity and innovation of individuals and organisations working to resolve the challenges of our time. It was instituted in 1864 as a memorial to Prince Albert, a former President of the Society. 

Recipients have ranged from world-renowned scientists to artists to social campaigners: they include Alexander Graham Bell in 1902 for the invention of the telephone; Marie Curie in 1910 for the discovery of radium; Stephen Hawking in 1999 for improving public awareness of physics; and Tim Berners-Lee in 2002 for the creation of the World Wide Web.

Sarah Gilbert - 2021 winner

2021 - Professor Sarah Gilbert 

This year’s Albert Medal will be awarded to Professor Sarah Gilbert for her services to collaborative innovation for the global common good in her role as the Oxford Project Leader for ChAdOx1 nCoV-19, a vaccine against the novel coronavirus.

Professor Gilbert will join us at a special event to accept the award on 14th April. Join us for the event.

The RSA’s Albert Medal celebrates the best in innovation, and the Oxford vaccine is a huge triumph for British creativity, research and development. The path set by Professor Gilbert and her team shows how public, private and philanthropic sectors can collaborate in the public interest.

Chief Executive of the RSA Matthew Taylor

Shape the future

Find out how we can unite people and ideas to resolve the challenges of our time and realise lasting change.

Past Albert Medal winners

Winners since 1864 have included Michael Faraday, Marie Curie, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Professor Stephen Hawking, Baroness Mary Warnock and Sir Tim Berners-Lee.