The RSA uses cookies on this website. By using this website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more read our cookie policy and privacy policy. More Info

Dismantling Racism: From History to Disruption to Representation (10AM PT | 1PM ET)

Fellowship Event / Online

 - 

Zoom

  • Social justice

“Dismantling racism is not as complicated as we make it. If we know our history and we are willing to walk through our fear, and let it go, we will be able to take action and make authentic decisions to speak out and make lasting change.” - Melissa Bird PhD FRSA

Dr. Bird, and Bay Area Co-Ambassador Jaylena D. Lomenech FRSA, have combined their decades of experience to craft a hybrid presentation/workshop to unpack how RSA US Fellows and staff can deliver on our organizational commitment to address intractable racism. DEI strategist, and assistant professor of Communication at Howard Community College (Md.), Crystal L. Walker will help unpack our four centuries of history, before we turn to examples of disruption, culminating in how inclusive representation can be achieved.

Panelist biographies forthcoming.

Please view the RSA US “Statement on Intractable Racism”, and the “Seven Structural Pathways to Racial Equity” - as outlined by RSA US Director Alexa Clay - to understand why we believe this work is so critical.

 

This event is taking place on Wednesday, October 28th 2020 between:

  • 10 - 11:30am PDT
  • 1 - 2:30pm EDT
  • 5 - 6:30pm GMT 

 


 

To access the log-in details to join this free event, please register in advance. Zoom information will be shared 48 hours, 2 hours, and 10 minutes prior to the event start time.


 

Taking Part in RSA Online Events 

For our interactive online events, the RSA uses the platform Zoom. We have found it simple for participants to use while also providing the necessary functionality for an engaging online event.  

To participate in the event, you will need to register for a ticket to receive the bespoke link to join. You will be sent detailed instructions via email closer to the event. Attendees will need to register for a free Zoom account and download their software. To understand more about how Zoom uses your data, please read their Privacy Policy in advance.  

A decision about recording this event is forthcoming. However, by attending this online event you accept that you will be joining a video based call as a participant.

If you have any questions, or to let us know of any access requirements or reasonable adjustments you require, please email: networks@rsa.org.uk and/or robert.diggs@thersa.org.

Be the first to write a comment

0 Comments

Please login to post a comment or reply

Don't have an account? Click here to register.

Related events