Accessibility links

Hon Wayne Swan MP

Hon Wayne Swan MP

Former DPM and Treasurer of Australia

The Hon Wayne Swan MP is the Federal Labor Member for Lilley. He is the former Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer of Australia.

In 2011, he was named Euromoney’s Finance Minister of the Year for his stewardship of Australia’s finances and economic performance both during and since the global financial crisis. Throughout that time, Australia not only avoided falling into recession but was the best performing of the world’s developed market economies.

Wayne Swan is Chair of the independent advisory group to the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, and Co-Chair of the Inclusive Prosperity Commission at the Chifley Research Centre, the think tank of the Australian Labor Party. The Inclusive Prosperity Commission is a major Chifley project exploring the threat to Australia’s future economic growth presented by growing inequality – and new policies to respond.